Verdi’s absolute rarities

Yesterday I rooted out a very unexpected jewel from iTunes Store. I was looking for something unique and at last I found a set of unpublished works by Giuseppe Verdi!! 8-] I already knew the chich of ARTS label titles but that was a pleasant surprise. The edition gathers impressive works composed between 1835-1845, in which the influence of Bellini and Donizzetti is plain. By the way, most of all I appreciated the Andante from Introduzione, Andante e Tema for oboe and orchestra, even if all the tracks are attractive. This cd was a best-selling of the year 2003 and was recorded by italian performers two years before for the 100th anniversary of Verdi’s death. Highly recommended.

About epogdous

I'm an italian student of Pharmaceutical Biotechnology in Sapienza University of Rome. Dispite my scientific interests (which range from structural biology to immunology, etc.) I cultivate a deep passion for classical music and in general for musicology. As a teen I studied the flute but basically I'm a self-taught pianist and composer. I'm well-acquainted with the music of 1850-1950 era. I generally don't like to say I have preferences for some composer in particular but I can't deny that Ralph Vaughan Williams and Charles Ives hold a great fascination to me. I think that the common message of their music is the transcendentalist precept "low living, high thinking".
This entry was posted in classical music, labels, musicians, musicology, Shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

